What are the different types of IUD?

IUDs: Two main types of IUD are available and are described here:

  1. Copper IUDs which come in different shapes and sizes to adapt to each woman’s anatomy; these are replaced every 5 to 10 years
  2. Hormonal IUDs (called levonorgestrel or Mirena) which thin the lining of the uterus. Women with this type of IUD experience significant reduction (sometimes total loss) in their menstrual bleed. these are replaced every 5 years.

The information provided on http://igo-en.igogyneco.com/ is intended to enhance and not substitute,
the direct relationship between the patient (or website visitor) and qualified health care providers.